Thanks Obama.

I’ve struggled to write this for weeks but, on the eve of the Inauguration, it’s truly now or never. I want to say thank you for being my President. And you truly were my President. The first time I ever voted, it was for you. It was 2012. I lived in Atlanta at the time and voted absentee. I cried in my dorm room while I proudly bubbled in that little box next to your name until it was a dark as can be. I drove it to the post office because I wanted to be sure it made it there. On election night, I huddled in a tiny campus cafe with so many people we were certainly violating a fire code or two. It’s probably the best memory I have of that school. Somewhere on the internet there’s video evidence of me dancing to Party in the USA in front of the MSNBC announcement officially calling it: Barack Obama Re-Elected President. (I also had cable at the time.) The election felt historic. It did in 2008, too, but this time it felt even more special. Because this time, I helped make that historic feeling possible.

These past 8 years, you’ve given us so much. You’ve served our country with grace, dignity, and respect. You worked with a Congress that was…difficult…on both sides of the aisle and you pulled us out of an economic slump that we’ll hopefully never see again. You faced more than your fair share of criticism.

And you gave us Joe Biden.

I will truly miss you. You were, and are, My President. Tomorrow, we’ll elect a President who is decidedly different from you. I’d be lying to say I wasn’t scared. But I’m also prepared to work. Towards progress. Towards love. Towards acceptance. Towards change.

Towards better.

Change isn’t easy. You weren’t the first to show us that, nor will you be the last. But you were so great. You gave us so much more than we deserve. And I can’t thank you enough.

 

It’s been an honor, Mr. President.

One thought on “Thanks Obama.

  1. I have not, nor will I ever, read or hear it spoken so truthfully and eloquently. A tribute to our President, as well as a tribute to what he helped inspire in so many others and you.

    On Thu, Jan 19, 2017 at 7:20 PM, Hearing Myself Talk wrote:

    > Conni posted: “I’ve struggled to write this for weeks but, on the eve of > the Inauguration, it’s truly now or never. I want to say thank you for > being my President. And you truly were my President. The first time I ever > voted, it was for you. It was 2012. I lived in Atla” >

Leave a Reply

